Tags

, , , , , , ,

365 Photo a Day Project Photo

“Abstract in the Kitchen Sink”

***************************************

The rambling part…

So today for various reasons, my parents are not coming over. Which means I gained 30 minutes that would have been used to tidy. Hmmm what could I do with a spare 30 minutes!?

I had an urge to take some photos but it was raining outside and the children were all at school so I looked around me for inspiration. Ironing pile?  No. Laundry waiting to be put away? No. Washing up…aha! Inspired by a pot left soaking I decided to take some abstracts of water in the kitchen…

(note how none of those things inspired me to think “use the 30 minutes productively doing chores…”)

This was what started me thinking of taking water photos…

then I noticed the condensation on the pot lid…

Then I thought I would add a little blue food colouring to a glass of water – the intention being to get little clouds of dark colour in the clear water.  I added too much and  just ended up with blue water!

I added a little olive oil to the water…

Time to tip it all away in the sink…and to grab the camera again when I realise how pretty it looks…

But not wanting a blue greasy sink I turned the water on it…

PS Lx is doing World War Two history at school. We try and give her an overview at home before they begin a new topic as it helps her with the vocabulary and to feel she has something to contribute. I ended up acting out a summary of the story of WW2 with my fingers (one index finger was Hitler, one was Churchill – the supporting cast of my other fingers played the parts of the German and British armies and the Jews).

Somehow despite my main chracters often getting their accents muddles, it got the main points across to her enough that she was full of information when the class was asked what they knew. Even if she did tell the teacher that “Hitler’s soldiers used to do the cancan!”

